Witches, all things Supe & a Lost Plot

Ever have that one book sitting on your shelf since the beginning of time? You don’t know why you bought it or why you haven’t read it. No? Just me? Never mind then.

The book in discussion is Kim Harrison’s Dead Witch Walking. (For all clueless souls, I’ll insert the summary from goodreads at the end of the post)

Let me just say one thing, oh my god, it was so dra-a-a-g-g-y!

When I started reading, I immediately realized I had read the introduction at least three times (any less and I won’t remember it) but had not gone any further. Why? The question was plaguing me. Then I got my answer–an overload of information. This wouldn’t have been so bad, however, the amount of information outweighed the actual action.

The only thing that truly intrigued me was the motive of Ivy the vampire. I truly liked her character, even more so than the protagonist, Rachel. Rachel got caught thrice and still seemed to think she did great. I would like to know the logic in that. I seemed to have gotten the impression that she was a bad-ass hunter when I read the summary, it contradicted with the character she truly was. Did I expect too much?

Then there is Nick. I distrusted Nick right from the instance he stepped out of the shower. I didn’t understand how Rachel trusted him so readily, he did nothing to earn the trust. He seemed so friendly, so well informed and so forth coming with that information. Maybe I have trust issues or maybe things just go that smoothly in their world.

I wouldn’t say it was a complete waste of my time but I definitely won’t be continuing this series. If I had to rate it, I would give it two stars out of five.

 

Goodreads Insert:
All the creatures of the night gather in “the Hollows” of Cincinnati, to hide, to prowl, to party… and to feed.

Vampires rule the darkness in a predator-eat-predator world rife with dangers beyond imagining – and it’s Rachel Morgan’s job to keep that world civilized.

A bounty hunter and witch with serious sex appeal and an attitude, she’ll bring ’em back alive, dead… or undead.

Dead Witch Walking
Kim Harrison
Published 1st July 2004

Leave a Reply

