Some Descendants & Some Drama

Ever enjoyed reading a book and at the end felt like, what did I just read? No? Just me? Fine.

I am talking about Jenna Black’s Dark Descendant (I’ll insert the summary from Goodreads below for those of you interested).

It started out strong and maintained pace throughout. Story progression was smooth sailing. I have to say though that this is not a plot-strong book. Too many characters are brought into the story at once that they are not distinct to the reader. Like phantom? They are there but there are not there.

The author spent more time establishing characters such as Anderson (the good guy), Konstantin (the bad guy), Alexis (bad guy’s sidekick), and Steph (Nikki’s sister). All the other characters were merely props or made to feel like it.

Nikki Glass, our heroine, did have some inconsistencies. At the beginning, I pegged her as a late-twenties woman. However, along the way I started to get the feeling that she was in her early-twenties. Nikki’s lost childhood sort of lost its impact since she kept emphasizing on how bad it was. I think it would have been better if she didn’t bring it up at every given opportunity. I did enjoy her skepticism.

I think it would have been better if she talked a bit more about the gods that the characters were descended from instead of just say what kind of god they are and leave it at that. I guess I expected it to be majestic when I read ‘god’s descendants’.

While I am not jumping up and down to get to the next part of the series, I would like to follow Nikki Glass for a bit and see where she goes. I would rate this book three stars out of five (because I am nice).

 

Goodreads Insert:
From the acclaimed author of the Morgan Kingsley, Exorcist books comes the gripping first novel in a new series about a private eye who discovers, to her surprise, that she’s an immortal huntress.

Nikki Glass can track down any man. But when her latest client turns out to be a true descendant of Hades, Nikki now discovers she can’t die. . . .

Crazy as it sounds, Nikki’s manhunting skills are literally god-given. She’s a living, breathing descendant of Artemis who has stepped right into a trap (Pixie note: I didn’t spot any trap) set by the children of the gods. Nikki’s new “friends” include a descendant of Eros, who uses sex as a weapon; a descendant of Loki, whose tricks are no laughing matter; and a half-mad descendant of Kali who thinks she’s a spy.

But most powerful of all are the Olympians, a rival clan of immortals seeking to destroy all Descendants who refuse to bow down to them. In the eternal battle of good god/bad god, Nikki would make a divine weapon. But if they think she’ll surrender without a fight, the gods must be crazy. . . .

Dark Descendant
Jenna Black
Published 26th April 2011

 

Leave a Reply

