Walker Papers Series Finale

on

You guys, I just found out that the book I have been waiting for was published two years back. How was I not aware of this? How can this be possible? Where was I the past two years?

Well, putting past emotions aside (we pixies recover quick).

The book in discussion is C.E.Murphy’s Shaman rises, the last in the Walker Paper series (Yes, I’m inserting the summary from Goodreads below). It took a long time for me to finally pick up this book. I read the book prior to this, three years ago. Can you imagine the number of books I’ve read in between? I was ready to be completely clueless.

The author, sweet Lord bless her soul, had included the essence of the previous books in her note. Thanks to that, I was able to remember the story thus far.

This book itself was an ending. It is not a story/plot unto itself, it is the ending to the story that has been building up since book one.

I am not entirely certain of my feelings on this book, being out of touch for three years will do that to you. The ending of this book definitely could have been better. It felt a bit rushed. I was disappointed that towards the ending, the importance of the main character, Joanne Walker, had diminished.

I have been following the Walker Paper series for a long time and overall, I have no regrets. Thank you very much to the author for penning this series.

 

Goodreads InsertJoanne Walker has two choices:

Defeat the enemy…or lose her soul trying

For over a year, Joanne has been fighting the Master—the world’s most abiding evil entity. She’s sacrificed family, friendships, even watched potential futures fade away…and now the Master is bringing the final battle to Joanne’s beloved Seattle.

Lives will be lost as the repercussions of all Joanne’s final transformation into her full Shamanic abilities come to her doorstep. Before the end, she’ll mourn, rejoice—and surrender everything for the hope of the world’s survival. She’ll be a warrior and a healer. Because she is finally a Shaman Rising.

Shaman Rises
C.E.Murphy
Published 24th June 2014

Leave a Reply

