An Adventure with The Thief

on

Remember the lizard that lives in my kitchen? By the way, I’m just going to name him Lexi the Lizard. Lexi has not been seen for three days now. This is a cause for caution. I think, I think he is plotting something really big.

I recently picked up Megan Whalen Turner’s The Thief (take a quick look at the summary below if you’ve never heard of the book). I’m so glad to have picked it up.

Honestly, this wasn’t a book that was completely tantalizing right from the start to the end. The reason I never put this book down is entirely because of the main character, Gen as well as the interaction between the characters. When I completed the book, I had so much appreciation for the author. Her style of writing is simply superb.

Because I’m feeling magnanimous today, I am not going to say anything to spoil the book. All I will tell you is this; if you’ve read the summary and are wavering between reading and not reading, you should read it. If you find it not to your liking once you’ve read it, then, oh wells . . .

I will also give you one advice (you’ll be happy you heeded, probably)–Do not read the reviews before you read the book.

 

Goodreads Insert: The king’s scholar, the magus, believes he knows the site of an ancient treasure. To attain it for his king, he needs a skillful thief, and he selects Gen from the king’s prison. The magus is interested only in the thief’s abilities.

What Gen is interested in is anyone’s guess. Their journey toward the treasure is both dangerous and difficult, lightened only imperceptibly by the tales they tell of the old gods and goddesses.  

The Thief
Megan Whalen Turner
Published 27th December 2005

 

Leave a Reply

