[EGGLESS] Blueberry Spongecake

My cakes have a tendency to be heavy and rich in texture which is delicious in its own right, however, I have been striving for soft and light textured cake for a long time.

Today, I realized what I was doing wrong–I have been over mixing the batter. I was always paranoid that the ingredients wouldn’t be well incorporated and by default wouldn’t turn out yummy. So I mixed and I mixed and I mixed all the way to Bangkok. However, I was determined that today would be different.

I decided to try out Kanan’s Eggless Mango Cake–it looked so yummy I wanted to take a bite out of it–except since I couldn’t find any mangoes I substituted them for blueberries. I didn’t make any big changes to the recipe, since I just wanted to try out and see how the texture came out.

blueberry-sponge-piece(edited).jpg

Verdict: Oh my god was it yummy!

First of all, I do admit, I might have mixed it more than I should have but it still came out light. Boy, am I thankful for that.

Secondly, I underestimated the amount of blueberries I would need. As a result, the blueberry taste was more subtle and taste of the condensed milk was more strong. You might want to add an additional 1/3 cup of pureed blueberry if you’re trying this recipe.

Overall, I am actually pretty happy with it but I might experiment with this more to bring out the blueberry taste.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup plain four
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • 80 gram (1/3 cup) unsalted butter–melted and cooled
  • 250 gram (about 1 cup) sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup pureed blueberry

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180 degree Celsius for about 20 minutes.
  2. Grease your cake pan with butter and set aside.
  3. Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.
  4. Separately, whisk pureed blueberry and melted butter until well mixed. Add in condensed milk and mix well.
  5. Sift the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  Blend the ingredients. Do not over mix. Repeat: Do not over mix.
  6. Pop it into the oven for about 40 minutes or stick a toothpick into the center and if it comes out clean, you’re good.
  7. Let the cake cool completely and serve.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Charisma says:

    Its eggless too?! Looks good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pixie says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

