[EGGLESS] Tangy Yougurty Cupcakey

I woke up determined to tackle the piles of books on my table that have been untouched since I got back from the library last week, instead I baked. Not that I feel repentant.

In all honesty, I don’t know if anyone has already made the Yogurt Cupcake, if they have, then kudos to them. While we’re being honest here, let me also confess–I had no idea how the cupcakes were going to turn out.

Yogurt-cupcake.jpg

Verdict: A little pot of yumminess is what it is.

Half the batch was baked as it was and half the batch had semi-sweet chocolate buttons in them. They were both miam-miam. The tangy flavor was not too sharp, it was just perfect. If you want to, you could even add a little Orange zest.

The cupcakes had a custard like texture (maybe I should call them custard pots instead of cupcakes) and are really soft when you bite into them. Before I knew it, I had already eaten half of the cupcakes.

One thing to note if you’re trying out this recipe is the sugar level. I tend to use lesser sugar, so if you’re fan of the really sweet, you might want to adjust the amount required as per your desire.

This recipe has made its debut into my permanent collection.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup + 4 tablespoon wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup + 4 tablespoon self-raising flour
  • 175 gram unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup brown granulated sugar (you can use caster sugar as well)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk + 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice (let this mixture sit for at least 2 minutes)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 165 degree Celcius for about 20 minutes.
  2. Place your cups on a tray and set aside.
  3. Beat butter until smooth. Then add sugar and beat until fluffy.
  4. Add in vanilla extract, yogurt and milk mixture and beat well.
  5. Sift wheat flour and self-raising flour into batter and mix well.
  6. Scoop batter into cups. You could just bake it like that. Or you could push some chocolate buttons into the middle of the batter. Your choice, really.
  7. Slide the tray with your cups into the oven and bake. Now, it took 35 minutes for my cuppies to bake but you should check your cupcake from the 20 minute mark.
Leave a Reply

