Cast in Peril

When I first started reading The Chronicles of Elantra by Michelle Sagara, I was absolutely in love. Now, eight books in and I’m not sure why.

It is not so much the story as it is the characters. Most of them have a ego bigger than Jupiter.

Why I never wanted to pick up another book in this series;

  1. Most of the players in the story treat Kaylin as though she is mentally invalid
  2. The way Kaylin perceives herself, God, this woman is so annoying in her self misery
  3. Sentences as long as the Amazon River that barely made sense

But then I ended up reading Cast in Peril. Why? Because it was right there, in front of my eyes. I was in the library looking for another book when I spotted it and I just couldn’t help myself but grab it.

I would say this book is only marginally better than the last one. It was a bit drawn and slow and I felt lost at certain instances. I didn’t follow the thread of logic all the time, it was frustrating. Kaylin was still being treated like a mentally invalid, although not as much as in the last book.

I absolutely love the plot and this world that Michelle Sagara has built and is building but some things are just plain frustrating.

 

Goodreads Insert: It has been a busy few weeks for Private Kaylin Neva. In between angling for a promotion, sharing her room with the last living female Dragon and dealing with more refugees than anyone knew what to do with, the unusual egg she’d been given was ready to hatch. Actually, that turned out to be lucky, because it absorbed the energy from the bomb that went off in her quarters…. So now might be the perfect time to leave Elantra and journey to the West March with the Barrani. If not for the disappearances of citizens in the fief of Tiamaris–disappearances traced to the very Barrani Kaylin will be traveling with…

Leave a Reply

