The Infamous Carrie

I bet you immediately knew which Carrie I was talking about when you read the title. That’s just how widespread Stephen King’s Carrie is. I didn’t intend to read this book at all. I wasn’t planning on reading.

Recently, work has been slowly creeping up on me time and I find myself with barely enough time to sleep much less read (a great displeasure I must say). I was looking at several different books to observe the introduction into the story for work when I came upon Carrie. I had watched the movie (the 1976 version) when I was a kid and certain scenes had stayed with me though the years. The young mind is very impressionable. I’m not entirely sure why but I’ve never thought to read the book. The idea didn’t even cross my mind.

When I held the book, I merely wanted to read a few pages to get a taste for the style but before I knew it I was flipping the last page close.

A powerful story about how kids could be brutal. When I read stories like this, I wonder what goes on in the antagonist’s mind, if anything even does.

More importantly, I was awed by the flow of the story. There were no awkward hicks anywhere–not from what I read anyway. I loved every piece of character that made this story. I gobbled up the ending, it was simply perfect in my eyes.

Immediately after reading, I watched all three Carrie movies (1976, 2002 and 2013). Big Mistake. Majorly Big Mistake. Watching the movie stand a lone might have been fine. However, I read the book before the movie and I was sorely disappointed. I felt like the movies did not match up to the books. At all. I don’t remember being this disappointed with another movie tie-in book.

On another note, I’m happy that I got to read and a good book at that. All is well that ends well.

Goodreads InsertCarrie knew she should not use the terrifying power she possessed… But one night at her senior prom, Carrie was scorned and humiliated just one time too many, and in a fit of uncontrollable fury she turned her clandestine game into a weapon of horror and destruction.

Carrie
Stephen King
Published 05 April 1974

Leave a Reply

