The Queen of the Dead 2

If I disliked the first book, I flat out immensely disliked Touch, the second book in The Queen of the Dead series by Michelle Sagara. And that is putting it mildly. You’re probably wondering why I even went on to read part two. That is because I had already borrowed it! What a waste it would be to return a book without reading it. Although I wish I hadn’t touched it.

First part of the story, ignoring the part where Nathan rambles on somewhat philosophically, there is Chase and Allison thinking and talking about the great danger Allison is in from necromancers. Chase hates on Emma Hall so strongly you would think he knew Allison even before Emma did. I am not a champion of Emma, but what makes him think he cares about Allison more than Emma? What makes him think he could just waltz into their lives and to rip them apart, not giving even a thought to the history they shared? I truly wanted to rip him out of the story and burn him so that there was no chance he could ever come back.

Secondly, what the hell do necromancers even do aside from harvesting powers from the dead and listening to their queen? How unambitious. How boring. How underdeveloped. We’re two books in and we still don’t know what necromancers actually are, their story, their aims. We don’t know how Emma is supposedly different from the other necromancers. All we know is the emotional rambling from either Allison, Chase, Emma or Nathan which honest to god, I don’t give a damn about. Where is the action? Was this story intended to be philosophical? Even then it would be like a soup with too many spices–its like they got lost in their own thought process and couldn’t make heads or tails of it.

The characters were too unrealistic and there was no consistency except for the part where Eric and Chase were bickering which was all too forced. I found it impossible to relate with any of the characters through out the story.

Too much descriptive words and some of them felt so flowery I was about to develop an allergy. The conversations between two or more people were just so confusing because it was hard to tell who was saying what. I had to re-read a few times to ensure I got it right.

Back when I was in school, I used to reword and rephrase some of my earlier points in my assignment just so that I could meet the word count. This book gave off such a feel. So much of what was said was repeated. A lot.

All in all, I regretted giving this book a chance. I am so not reading the last book, I assume the next book is the last since its a trilogy.

 

Goodreads Insert: Nathan died the summer before his final year in high school. But he wakes in his room—or in the shrine of his room his mother’s made—confused, cold, and unable to interact with anyone or anything he sees. The only clear memory he has is a dream of a shining city and its glorious queen, but the dream fades, until he once again meets his girlfriend Emma by the side of his own grave.

Nathan wants life. He wants Emma. But, even if Emma can deliver what he desires, the cost may be too high to pay.

Leave a Reply

