Morrigan’s Cross

I did not know this was a trilogy. Even though it was printed on the cover page. I could be addled brain like that at times, please excuse me.

Morrigan’s Cross by Nora Roberts was different from what I expected (have I been saying that often?). I read a few of Nora Roberts’s crime stories and I can’t say I’m a fan. Her works were what I considered to be neutral territory.

I was looking for a novel that I would normally not read and chose this one because it sounded similar to the story of a hero and his band going on a journey to defeat the last boss.

The plot: Hoyt wants revenge on the last boss, Lilith, for changing his brother, Cian, into a blood-sucker. To do that, he has to gather other players and prepare for the battle. See? Doesn’t it sound like a hero’s journey?

Let’s see the characters we got: Hoyt the twelfth century sorcerer, Cian his brother, the now vampire, Cian’s best friend, King, Glenna the modern day witch, Moira the scholarly future queen, her most trusted companion, the shapeshifter Larkin, Blair the hunter, Morrigan the goddess, and Lilith the psycho bitch.

The story kicks off with an old man telling a story. It started off in Hoyt’s point of view and had a little of every character’s point of view at some point. However, as the story progressed, Glenna’s point of view occupied the pages. I couldn’t empathize with the characters because of this jumping about.

Glenna seem to have a pretty strong head on her but all that ‘only she has the right answer’ annoyed me. I honestly do not like stories wherein all the characters would like and get along with the main character (or one of the main characters). Glenna was turning out to be one such character. It made me dislike her.

The characters in this book are consistent with their personality traits but that doesn’t mean I like them. I did like Blair though–a beauty with working gears in her head and can kick ass? Take me now.

This book was more romance than anything and these days I don’t read much in the line of romance. There was not a lot of action unless you consider arguing action which I don’t.

The writing style is a bit like poetry. I do like flowery words, it was, however, a little unexpected as I began this book expecting clanging swords and bloody showers, sparks flying and blood rushing.

 

Goodreads Insert: Number-one New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts delivers an extraordinary new trilogy—an epic tale that breaks down the boundaries between reality and the otherworldly, while forging together the passions of the men and women caught in a battle for the fate of humanity …

In the last days of high summer, with lightning striking blue in a black sky, the sorcerer stood on a high cliff overlooking the raging sea…

Belting out his grief into the storm, Hoyt Mac Cionaoith rails against the evil that has torn his twin brother from their family’s embrace. Her name is Lilith. Existing for over a thousand years, she has lured countless men to an immortal doom with her soul-stealing kiss. But now, this woman known as vampire will stop at nothing until she rules this world—and those beyond it…

Hoyt is no match for the dark siren. But his powers come from the goddess Morrigan, and it is through her that he will get his chance at vengeance. At Morrigan’s charge, he must gather five others to form a ring of power strong enough to overcome Lilith. A circle of six: himself, the witch, the warrior, the scholar, the one of many forms and the one he’s lost. And it is in this circle, hundreds of years in the future, where Hoyt will learn how strong his spirit—and his heart—have become…

Morrigan’s Cross (Circle Trilogy #1)
Nora Roberts
Published 29 August 2006

Leave a Reply

