Department Q’s Hanging Girl

By Jussi Adler-Olsen translated by William Frost The Hanging Girl is the sixth book in the Department Q series.

I remember reading his first book and loving it for its clean writing. I read all this books following that except for Macro Effect [also titled Buried]. I just couldn’t bring myself to read that one although believe me when I say I tried. Albeit not very hard. Understand that I am a fan of his work, or at least the translated version of his work, so when I saw The Hanging Girl in my library by utter coincidence, I grabbed it. Without even glancing at the back cover. And that rarely (read: never) happens.

Man, what a drag it was completing this book. Listen y’all, there is two types of books–the kind when you’re reading and look up (or down) at the page number and realize you’re three quarter ways in and then there is the kind where you’re not even a quarter of the way in. This falls into the latter category.

The ideas and the thought process that were formed and developed along the story line were some times hard to grasp and follow. A translation problem maybe. Then there is the details of the backstory which in my opinion was lengthy and irrelevant–it added nothing to the story and was not the least bit interesting.

As for the main characters, Carl, Assad and Rose, and the interaction between them, I want to say they aren’t how I remember them as but then memory fails.

I have to say, a bit disappointed with this one.

The subplot within is another matter. The mystery of Assad and Rose as well as possibility of Carl’s subconsciously subdued memory is as intriguing as ever unless I missed out too much on the fifth book.

 

Goodreads Insert: In the middle of a hard-won morning nap in the basement of police headquarters, Carl Mørck, head of Department Q, receives a call from a colleague working on the Danish island of Bornholm. Carl is dismissive at first, but then he receives some shocking news.

Carl then has no choice but to lead Department Q into the tragic cold case of a vivacious seventeen-year-old girl who vanished from school, only to be found dead hanging high up in a tree. The investigation will take them from the remote island of Bornholm to a hidden cult, where Carl and his assistants must stop a string of new murders by a skilled manipulator who refuses to let anything-or anyone-get in the way.

The Hanging Girl (Department Q #6)
Jussi Adler-Olsen translated by William Frost
Published 3 Sept 2015

 

 

Leave a Reply

