Cold Magic

I have not read a great many steampunk-ish novels but from what little I have, I have not enjoyed the genre much. Then for what purpose did I pick up Cold Magic by Kate Elliot you may ask. I don’t know.

Listen, I’ll tell you why I dislike the steampunk genre–they throw chunks of information at you. Its one thing if its coming from a textbook, its completely another thing if its coming from a fictional book.

Some problems I had when reading Cold Magic was that there were many a great chunks of historical information, of war, regions and the different ways of life. Its like being given food when you’re full–what’re you supposed to do with it? Nothing. Put it away.

I can’t confidently tell you how cold magic works, or how the land is divided and who rules what. Honestly speaking, I wasn’t that interested in this world and found that I couldn’t care much.

Not to forget, I had a hard time placing the age of the protagonist at the beginning of the story–I thought she was 12!

While I won’t say much about the other characters, I did like Catarine Barahal, although she kept repeating she was a cat and how pretty her cousin was. She seemed to be someone who would live life the way she wanted (like a cat, wouldn’t you say?) and has a good head on her shoulders. One thing I didn’t understand was her interest in Andevei. Why even? I think it was meant to be gradual but it came out forced.

The main plot’s progress was a bit distorted what with the overabundance of information. I skipped a lot of scenes so that may have been the reason. After completing the book though, I wondered about what I read. A whole lot of babbling and running away that is what.

The book is so concentrated with building a fantasy world that it has failed in its story telling.

Overall, it wasn’t a bad read and I might even pick up the next book.

 

Backpage Insert: Cat Barahal was the only survivor of the flood that took her parents. Raised by her extended family, she and her cousin, Bee, are unaware of the dangers that threaten them both. It is the dawn of a new age, but ancient powers still hold sway.

Now, betrayed by her family and forced to marry a powerful cold mage, Cat will be drawn into a labyrinth of politics. There she will learn the full ruthlessness of their rule. What do cold mages want from her? And who will help Cat in her struggle against them?

Cold Magic (Spirit Walker #1)
Kate Elliot
Published 01 Jan 2010

 

Leave a Reply

