The Pages of the Mind

There was a time whereby I extensively read romance novels, where went that time I don’t know.

When I picked up The Pages of the Mind by Jeffe Kennedy, I wasn’t aware that it was part of a series. The fourth book of The Twelve Kingdom series  to be precise. That doesn’t surprise you, does it? Yup, didn’t think so.

Putting aside my irritation at the fact that someone had so utterly bent the cover page, I started reading. I was assaulted by the number of names–people’s and places’–thrown at me. I was drowning in names of people I didn’t know. However, as I continued reading, it wasn’t hard to keep up. What was hard was pronouncing words like ‘Elskastholrr’. Am I the only who had trouble reading that?

Dafne, our protagonist is a librarian and she is hailed for her intelligence and so I expect there to be some scene where she displays intelligence. Maybe her great aptitude for learning language can be counted as a display of intelligence, but then wouldn’t that be too flat? Or maybe her ability to negotiate? She is translating, not negotiating though. In the end, what do we get? Forced marriage, marriage life, sex, sex, marriage trouble then more sex. But then again this book is classified under Romance.

I did like the portrayal of Jepp and Ursula. Otherwise, I felt a bit detached with the other characters.

The story does not drag or bore you with unnecessary details (although it may have glossed over some details) and I liked that. Overall, I deem this book a light read.

 

Goodreads Insert: An Orphan’s Throne

Magic has broken free over the Twelve Kingdoms. The population is beset by shapeshifters and portents, landscapes that migrate, uncanny allies who are not quite human…and enemies eager to take advantage of the chaos.

Dafne Mailloux is no adventurer–she’s a librarian. But the High Queen trusts Dafne’s ability with languages, her way of winnowing the useful facts from a dusty scroll, and even more important, the subtlety and guile that three decades under the thumb of a tyrant taught her.

Dafne never thought to need those skills again. But she accepts her duty. Until her journey drops her into the arms of a barbarian king. He speaks no tongue she knows but that of power, yet he recognizes his captive as a valuable pawn. Dafne must submit to a wedding of alliance, becoming a prisoner-queen in a court she does not understand. If she is to save herself and her country, she will have to learn to read the heart of a wild stranger. And there are more secrets written there than even Dafne could suspect . . .

The Pages of the Mind (The Twelve Kingdoms #1, The Uncharted Realms #1)
Jeffe Kennedy
Published 31 May 2016

Leave a Reply

