Pop Goes the Weasel

I finally landed my hands on the second book in the DI Helen Grace series by M.J. Arlidge.

Firstly, let it be known that when it comes to reading crime fiction, I am not picky about cliches or facts unless it is glaringly obvious/mainstream.

I thought this book was a good read, I finished it in good time. I did not stutter in reading it, the flow was natural. The chapters are short and alternate between different point of views, this I think was to ensure it did not stagnate in one point and kept the story moving.

When you are reading a book, depending on where you are in the story (like the first quarter of the book or such), sometimes  you can predict the upcoming twist. Especially if you read a particular genre extensively. Which was how I was able to predict some of the twists in this story.

The characters still do not form much of an imprint in the story. I would not be able to say “oh, this is something DI Helen Grace would do.” Or “This is really like Charlie.”

I felt like in this story, there was nothing to celebrate, nothing to feel happy about or even satisfied. It is all so dreary. I am not sure if its intended.

Looking at it overall, it wasn’t a bad read. I did finish it and I will go on reading the third book. After all, I do have it.

 

Goodreads Insert: DI Helen Grace returns in Pop Goes the Weasel, the electrifying new thriller from M. J. Arlidge.

The body of a middle-aged man is discovered in Southampton’s red-light district – horrifically mutilated, with his heart removed.

Hours later – and barely cold – the heart arrives with his wife and children by courier.

A pattern emerges when another male victim is found dead and eviscerated, his heart delivered soon afterwards.

The media call it Jack the Ripper in reverse; revenge against the men who lead sordid double lives visiting prostitutes. For Grace, only one thing is certain: there’s a vicious serial-killer at large who must be halted at all costs . . .

Pop Goes the Weasel (DI Helen Grace #2)
M.J. Arlidge
Published 11 Sept 2014

Leave a Reply

