Say You’re Sorry

No, I’m not asking you to say you’re sorry, it’s just a book I read.

I have been busy with work for the past couple of weeks and have been putting off reading anything that is not related to work. I’m actually still busy with a project but I just couldn’t stay away from reading any longer. You understand the pain, don’t you?

Anyway, I got around to rummaging, rummaging and rummaging. For some reason a lot of the books I wanted to read were not available for purchase on Kindle. They had the Kindle edition but it was unavailable for purchase. God knows why. Fortunately, Say You’re Sorry by Melinda Leigh was available and I stayed up all night to complete the book. Not my greatest idea but needs must.

I’m not exactly a fan of more than two point of views in a story but this one had five. Five! There was the point of view of the victim, the suspect, the actual criminal, the protagonist and her partner. Can you imagine five point of views in a mystery book? Someone show me where the mystery is.

Aside from the point of views, I also had a beef with the ending. The apparent conclusion to the problem was flatter than a pair of ballet flats. When I was reading it, I was like did that just happen? That’s it? Truly?

On the other hand. the first chapter of the book was great. I loved the way it was written. As for the characters, I may have liked Morgan Dane, the protagonist but it was hard to get a feel for any of the characters except Tessa Palmer.

The characters in the story were interlaced artfully. Unfortunately, I believe the multiple point of views ruined it. While there seemed to be several possibilities to solving the mystery, it is easy to predict whodunit. No mystery. No suspense. No thriller.

 

Goodreads Insert: After the devastating loss of her husband in Iraq, Morgan Dane returns to Scarlet Falls, seeking the comfort of her hometown. Now, surrounded by family, she’s finally found peace and a promising career opportunity—until her babysitter is killed and her neighbor asks her to defend his son, Nick, who stands accused of the murder.

Tessa was the ultimate girl next door, and the community is outraged by her death. But Morgan has known Nick for years and can’t believe he’s guilty, despite the damning evidence stacked against him. She asks her friend Lance Kruger, an ex-cop turned private eye, for help. Taking on the town, the police, and a zealous DA, Morgan and Lance plunge into the investigation, determined to find the real killer. But as they uncover secrets that rock the community, they become targets for the madman hiding in plain sight.

Say You’re Sorry (Morgan Dane #1)
Melinda Leigh
16 May 2017

Leave a Reply

